Online

External Event: Fierce Courage: Peacemaking in Northern Ireland with Ryushin Paul Haller

Zen Peacekeepers International

Location:
Dates and Times:
October 23, 2020

In this event, run by Zen Peacemakers International, the PI Executive Director Geoff Shōun O’Keeffe speaks to the Zen Buddhist teacher Paul Haller about Paul’s role as a peacemaker and socially engaged Buddhist in Northern Ireland. Paul Haler will discuss his experiences and then answer questions from the audience. 

Ryushin Paul Haller, Roshi is originally from Belfast, Northern Ireland. In the early 1970s, he traveled to Syria, Iraq, Iran, Afghanistan, Jordan, and Japan, where he was introduced to Zen at the age of 25. While a resident of Thailand, he received ordination as a Buddhist monk and then journeyed to California to enter Tassajara Zen Mountain Center in 1974. Roshi received Dharma Transmission from Sojun Mel Weitsman and has been teaching for over 30 years throughout the United States and Europe; he is the former Abbot of the San Francisco Zen Center and a teacher at Black Mountain Zen Centre in Belfast, Northern Ireland. Roshi has led mindfulness programs to assist with depression and recovery, has taught in prisons, and has worked in hospice care. He has also practiced yoga for over 30 years. 

 

When?

This free event will run online via zoom on the dates below.

Los Angeles, USA           Fri, Oct 23, 2020 at 5:00 pm PDT      
Denver, USA                Fri, Oct 23, 2020 at 6:00 pm MDT      
Chicago, USA               Fri, Oct 23, 2020 at 7:00 pm CDT      
New York, USA              Fri, Oct 23, 2020 at 8:00 pm EDT      
Melbourne, Australia       Sat, Oct 24, 2020 at 11:00 am AEDT    
Auckland, New Zealand      Sat, Oct 24, 2020 at 1:00 pm NZDT    
Bern, Switzerland          Sat, Oct 24, 2020 at 2:00 am CEST    
Jerusalem, Israel          Sat, Oct 24, 2020 at 3:00 am IDT      
Belfast, United Kingdom    Sat, Oct 24, 2020 at 1:00 am BST   

For more details and to register, please go to https://hive.zenpeacemakers.org/events/42442https://hive.zenpeacemakers.org/events/42442


Share :